Albinism (and melanism)

melanistic-black-king-emperor-penguin melanistic-black-fawn black-leopard-panther-jaguar-melanistic-big-cat great_pictures_of_albino_animals_640_08

Albinism is a mutation in the genes – where recessive genes from (most probably) both parents cause the melanin level to either be non-existing or to be very low. It is a pretty common mutation in the animal and plant kingdom (which is the groups I will be elaborating on) the  however within the individual species it can vary – for example mice are now bred in albino, while there has only been registered two cases of albino humpback whales in the history. The absence of melanin makes especially animals prune to 1) be very attractive to humans 2) and other animals, like hunters. In the instance of albino dolphin’s they will develop sunburns and sometimes-even cancer from the lack of protection from the sun – deafness and eye problems are normal for example like the albino bison, White Cloud. It is not true that albinism can cause death or other problems, just sensitive eyes and skin, which can then lead to cancer without proper caution in exposure for UV-lights. And as mentioned; some animals will be an easier pray as it stands out from nature, lacking its natural protection and camouflage – or be caught by people for to be put in a zoo some where and bred. Here is another problem; because we think the albino animals are so pretty, we inbred them if we don’t have another albino – by breeding the albino with its own offspring. This is very plausible to cause more mutations, which is the same with us humans.

Check this out for more on the albino dolphin:

http://latino.foxnews.com/latino/lifestyle/2011/12/02/albino-dolphin-found-off-coast-south-america-by-brazilian-biologists/

Melanism is the opposite of Albinism and is a dominant gene that produce dark/black fur/skin. It actually increases chance of survival if an animal is melano (I guess the term would be) because it is better camouflage – dark coat resembles shadows – and protection from the sun.

Interesting right?

3 thoughts on “Albinism (and melanism)

  1. Super cool. You don’t really hear a lot about melanism. I guess because its advantages weigh over its disadvantages. I think the “melano” animals are beautiful, especially that leopard.

  2. I was going to do my post about albinism but then changed my mind and did inbreeding instead. What you said is a good basic summary of it, but you could mention the different types of albinism and the albinism in humans as well. But my favorite part of this post is Melanism, which I didn’t know about. I’d like to learn more about this.

  3. I totally agree with you. I saw my first albino animal when I was visiting the Zoo in Madrid where the main attraction was the white gorilla called Snowflake, and I thought he was white because the skin cancer it was suffering from but I never thought the albinism wasn’t the direct cause for the cancer, but the sensitive skin. Really interesting.

Leave a comment