GMO food

GMOs food is genetically modified organism food. GMOs are living organisms whose genetic material has been artificially manipulated in a laboratory through genetic engineering. This relatively new science creates unstable combinations of plant, animal, bacteria and viral genes that do not occur in nature or through traditional crossbreeding methods. Nowadays, we can see many kinds of GMOs in markets and many people enjoy them. Moreover, they did not have enough information about them. For consumers, it can be difficult to stay up-to-date on food ingredients that are at-risk of being genetically modified, as the list of at-risk agricultural ingredients is frequently changing. After reading some articles about GMOs, I think original foods are better than GMOs. So, I want to share 10 reasons to avoid GMOs for you.

There are reasons why we have to avoid GMOs

1. GMOs are unhealthy

2. GMOs contaminate –forever

3. GMOs increase herbicide use

4. Genetic engineering creates dangerous side effects

5. Government oversight is dangerously lax

6. The biotech industry uses “tobacco science” to claim product safety

7. Independent research and reporting is attached and suppressed

8. GMOs harm the environment

9. GMOs do not increase yields, and work against feeding a hungry world

10. By avoiding GMOs, you contribute to the coming tipping point of consumer rejection, forcing them out of our food supply

article-2245686-0068448900000258-422_634x415 genetically-modified-food1

4 thoughts on “GMO food

  1. I didn’t know much about GMO’s so I recently did a little research. I agree with you, I think it’s horrible that the food industry is now genetically altering foods. I think it’s also horrible that the grocery manufacturers association is trying to pass a bill in congress called the DARK Act which is the deny Americans the right to know Act. the bill would basically block individual states from requiring labels on foods that contain GMO’s. This angers me so much, people deserve to know what they are consuming and the fact the these food industries are pushing the government to comply is sickening.

  2. I didn’t know about GMO either. Wow…With this we can see that many of the food companies are more interested in the money, than providing good and healthy food.

    I wonder how many food ingredients that we eat every single day have been genetically modified, probably 9/10!!!
    Knowing this, probably will make me double think what I am eating or what will I buy while grocery shopping.
    I agree with you it can be difficult to stay up-to-date on food ingredients that are at-risk of being genetically modified, as the list of at-risk agricultural ingredients is frequently changing!!! I wish food companies were more honest with what they selling to the public

  3. I didn’t know about GMO either. Wow…With this we can see that many of the food companies are more interested in the money, than providing good and healthy food.

    I wonder how many food ingredients that we eat every single day have been genetically modified, probably 9/10!!!
    Knowing this, probably will make me double think what I am eating or what will I buy while grocery shopping.
    I agree with you it can be difficult to stay up-to-date on food ingredients that are at-risk of being genetically modified, as the list of at-risk agricultural ingredients is frequently changing!!! I wish food companies were more honest with what they selling to the public

    -Maria

  4. I wasn’t exactly sure what a GMO meant other than genetically modified ….I’m not sure about the O. That is kind of scary that all of these things are being put into our bodies. How does anyone expect to become healthier and stop the obesity problem in this country if the food production and distribution isn’t changed?

Leave a Reply

