Fed Up

Unknown

I recently just watched the documentary film, Fed Up. I knew of  the obesity issue in the united states for a while now, but I’m still disturbed by how the large companies in the food industry are able to manipulate and control people. I was one of the few students in my high school that supported what Michelle Obama was trying to accomplish with the food in the school systems. I myself have grown up very fortunate. My parents never fed me processed junk when I was a kid, my parents would always cook amazing meals and take me to various restaurants, where I was able to develop a more refined palate at a young age. I consider myself a foodie, I love to cook and try new foods. I lived in Europe for most of my life and not until I moved to Virginia did I realize how different the food was. I never heard of Chick-Fil-A , but the first time I tried it I thought it was gross. I thought the pizza places like papa Johns, Pizza Hut, and Dominos are repulsive. I also didn’t understand why kids loved to eat gummies, fruit roll ups, gushers, and ect. When living in England they did have similar items, but the taste was twenty times better in my opinion. I went from amazing school lunches to lunches where I had to question what I was actually eating. There were no real healthy options, everyday students would get a choice of burgers, pizza, fries, and chicken sandwiches. I never understood why the school wouldn’t provide more homemade meals. The schools version of homemade is a pile of tortilla chips topped with a scoop of mystery meat. Not to mention the drink option was milk, which I thought was strange. The milk always tasted gross to me and I know that the chocolate milk is a huge issue, because of all the sugar but I honestly drank it only because the chocolate flavor masked the weird cardboard carton taste. It was very upsetting to find out that even the first lady Michelle Obama didn’t have enough power to control these companies. What she was doing was their worst nightmare so of course they would get involved and manipulate her program from targeting nutrition and turn it into targeting children to become more physically active. I think the person who deserves more acknowledgement in trying to help the schools food system is chef Jamie Oliver. I have been watching him cook since I was a little girl and I a hundred percent support what changes he is trying to make. I remember he had a television series all about this issue and how he wanted to change not only the schools foods, but fast food chains to offer more healthy and fresh options. But of course once again the food industry feared him then put an end to what he was trying to do. Some schools wouldn’t allow him to be anywhere near their schools. They cancelled the television series and not much has happened since. I can only hope the one day society can make these necessary changes to help the future of the generations to come. I hope that one day someone can speak out against these large companies to make these significant changes. It’s wrong what the food industry is doing and when I have children of my own one day I will not stand by and let met children be manipulated or tempted into eating false advertised and sugar/sodium overloaded foods and beverages.

1035x573-20140508-fedup-x1800-1399581878

8 thoughts on “Fed Up

  1. Thanks for all of this information! I had always thought the first lady’s program began with the physical activity being the main focus for children. People who have gone on diets will understand that even if you do exercise, the diet will be more effective if better choices in food are made. I truly feel that there is a huge issue in the US. When I was attending elementary school here, I didn’t know that it was all unhealthy. My parents didn’t mind it either because they were so busy; they just wanted to know that I was eating. I also think that better food should be in schools for children at an early age so they can grow accustom to the healthy food. Kids will be kids and always choose the sugary and sweet tastes. It’s sad that these companies sacrifice the future health of the children in order to make sure they stay wealthy.

  2. I’ve been meaning to watch that documentary, I heard it was very informative. The way you talked about eating school lunches in England reminded me of a set of photos I saw a while ago: http://distractify.com/pinar/sweetgreen-international-school-lunches/

    These are images of what school lunches look like around the world. When I saw this for the first time, I didn’t believe that it was real — all those lunches look amazing! The lunches at my schools were always frozen and canned, and seeing images of fresh fruits and vegetables on a lunch tray was a big juxtaposition to me. I hope this issue is resolved soon, because it would make a huge impact on the health of American children.

  3. I watch a great deal of documentaries and including Food Inc. It makes me equally parts upset and happy that other people see what a problem food legislation is. Short sighted and out to literally overlook peoples health in favour of profit. Food legislation is one of the most well manipulated haneously run industries. As an african american food prices have more of an affect the lower on the economic scale you get, and often the poor (including public schools are given the short end of the stick) IE being only able to afford not the best things for them (in america that is). Which is why diabetes and obesity in the african american community is so bad. on the other side is debate is What people can afford. In my community alone a lot of people can’t afford to go to the farmers market and buy all the green veggies they want or need. a great deal of those kids that got fruit roll ups and gushers and snaps like that were given that because its what families can afford. I know we need pay attention to improve the american diet but we also can’t overlook the struggle people go to get that food. At the end of the day I would rather see the impoverished fed (reguardless of the food) rather than starve because they couldn’t buy a ceaser salad

  4. I had the same experience! In my country (Guatemala) The food is more healthy and we don’t have that much fast food or such an unhealthy menu in the school. Even McDonald’s hamburgers taste different. Here they taste like plastic and super greasy. In Guatemala the flavor is way much better, and it is funny because since I tried the hamburger here, I no longer like eating McDonalds either here or back home.

    That picture you shared is very impressive and concerning!!! We can find Sugar is so many food plates and restaurants! and we are eating it like if it was not a problem, and at the end of the day we are just filling our body with unhealthy food.

    I agree with everyone else! the food choices that the parents and institution choose for the Kids should be better because they deserve to grow healthy and with all the nutrients they need.

    -Maria

  5. The scan of the brain that shows the cocaine and sugar addiction caught my eye! This was really informative thank you for sharing! That’s really interesting that similar foods taste so differently in other countries and that this county has fallen into a downward spiral of fast food and fats and sugars.

  6. I agree with you, Jamie Oliver is really starting to make a difference. Because he’s popular, becoming a well known celebrity, the actions of “the naked chef” will be kept in attention, and he’s been cooking for schools for a long time, always preparing fast cheap, healthy meals. I remember seeing a video of him cooking in an american high school, and he really impressed the kids and made them eat his food instead of their usual pizza or burger.

  7. Yeah…this post is fully reinforcing my fantasy to move to Europe after I graduate. The more I learn, the more disgusted I am with America.

  8. Thank you for the interesting post! Have you heard of a documentary called “Supersize Me”? It’s focused on perfectly healthy man who decides to eat American McDonalds for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for a whole month, and the effects it has on him.

Leave a Reply

