Eating Locally Thinking Globally

Last week we spoke about eating locally and who in our class does it. It was unsurprising to me that many of my fellow class mattes do not. I can say the same thing for myself. However, I once did. Before I came to Sarasota there was a weekly farmers market in my hometown. This market was field with fresh seasonal produce and fresh hunting season meats. I went there three times a week on average.

I do not like to freeze items, I do not particularly believe in it. I think that freezing an item then taking it out to eat it a month later is unnatural; therefore, I often shop for food. I like to buy what I need to eat for two to three days, so I plan ahead what will be served.

This was all in Asheville however. In Sarasota the Farmers Market is only once a week for a few hours, and most of the Farmers Market is not actually famers. It is often candle makers, t-shirt peddlers, and soaps sellers. There are parts of it that has produce which looks like your every day grocery store. There is also very few meat sellers. All together I would say it is difficult for the people of Sarasota to eat locally. I am sure there are plenty of farms in Sarasota they are just owned by large corporations.

Now why is eating local important? First reason is that it helps local Farmers it is not buying from a large corporation like Tyson, which owns almost seventy-five percent of all our meat products, or any other corporate produce company. Large corporations feed their animals corn, because it is cheaper then grass. Most animals cannot digest corn properly which result in there stomachs rupturing. Local farmers will often take care of their animals; they will also take care of their crops properly instead of dousing it in pesticides. They have less distance to travel from farm to table so there is no need for all the pesticides.

There is also the large factor that with less distance to travel with all of these foods it would save our atmosphere a lot. Imagine how many trucks, planes, and boats travel each day caring food from country to country and state to state. It is an extremely large number. All of that co2 could be cut down to almost nothing if every one just stated eating locally. Which in turn would save our planet immensely: it would save more animals, more plants, and even more humans.

eat-local1

3 thoughts on “Eating Locally Thinking Globally

  1. Interesting you don’t believe in freezing. I don’t have anything against that. Does that mean that you wouldn’t eat something frozen a week ago? Just curious. I’m actually similar in the sense that, I don’t believe in microwaving. I hate having fresh food chilled and then “rewarmed” for later eating or the next day. Especially if it’s homemade. My mom knows to leave the food out on the stove for me, even left overs..wrapped. Of course if it spoils she won’t do that but if it’s let’s say, homemade pizza, I either reheat it in the oven or eat it cold – because I enjoy it fresh and feel like it loses that freshness when it’s “nuked”.

    • Yes I don’t freeze anything and then consume it. Food is not meant to be eaten weeks later. I also do not believe in microwaving my food. I either warm it up on stove top or in the oven. The only thing I use my microwave for is tea and that is because my teapot broke and I need to buy a new one. Thank you for your comment!

  2. I really enjoyed reading your blog post. I have yet to go to the sarasota farmers market, but I’m sad to read that it’s not as big in produce as I thought it was. I agree with you that eating local is important, if I had it my way I would only eat locally. I wish that there were more local markets to make it more convenient for people, but I did see on a commercial last night stating to look for the fresh from florida labels in your local grocery stores, which I thought was great, because I know florida has a lot of great produce. I also agree with you that it’s better to eat locally because of how the big companies treat their animals, which is truly in humane and that’s just one of the many things these large companies need to change. The documentary film Food inc. goes into depth on how the large companies like Tyson, which is a company they talk about, treats these animals. It’s highly disturbing what the food industry get’s away with these days.

Leave a Reply

