Learning to Eat Local

Best-of-Hollywood_111

Image Source

The class discussion on the biodiversity of food was really enlightening for me and it got me thinking about the food that I consume at school and at home. So much of our food has travel as far as it does in order to reach our supermarkets, and I didn’t realize how great an impact that has on the quality of the food and the environment in which it grows.

I come from a pretty big family, so our trips to the grocery store are weekly and bulky. There are seven of us in my house, and now that my brothers and I are grown up and have different schedules, our dinners tend to be quick, easy to fix meals. This usually means frozen pizza, or chicken nuggets, or macaroni and cheese with peas from a can. Our bananas and apples and oranges are purchased year round, and when I’m home, there are always raspberries in the fridge (raspberries are my favorite). I never stopped to think about whether or not the fruit is in season, or about how far my food is actually traveling. Needless to say, convenience is a bigger priority in my house than where the food comes from.

But our class made me wonder how much more inconvenient it would actually be to try purchasing more locally grown fruits and vegetables. “Locavore” is a term I’ve never heard before last class, but I found that there are actually a lot of resources online for locally grown food near my city. I found a blog that is dedicated to posting recipes for meals that you can make with food purchased from specific farms near the city. There’s a farmer’s market that happens on the weekends in the summer not far from where I live, and I think it’d be really worthwhile to check it out sometime.

I doubt that my family, being as big and as busy as it is, would be able to switch to a completely local diet, but I’m glad to know that there are healthier, environmentally friendlier options that are easily accessible to me.

4 thoughts on “Learning to Eat Local

  1. I agree with your thoughts about how convenience often out weighs the healthier option. When you begin working and attending school to train for your profession, eating healthy can often take a backseat. It is good to still make the effort but, but often times one needs to consider and make a personal choice as to what is more important to them on a daily basis.

  2. I think I also learn a lot of good things about eat local from last class. I didn’t know that my roommate is one of guy who is getting more food from local farmers market. After I heard about local farmers market from my roommate, I went to farmers market at downtown on Saturday. Local foods are looks really fresh and Some of food are cheaper than big mart like Publix.
    I think visiting farmers market and getting local food was good experience. And I can’t change everything at once, but I will try to change my food diet to eat local food gradually.

  3. More people should learn about local eating instead of always picking the easy road out. growing up in a farm or green state like georgia if there was anything that I could tell the different of being grown locally or overseas if was peaches. to this day I really…really hate peaches that aren’t grown in georgia. often time they taste like slightly sweetened water balloons to me and I despise it. my mom tends to buy local and it just makes out stuff taste much better. visiting the farmers market also is good for economics because it feeds back in to local businesses instead of spreading it thin with buying from large markets.

  4. Wow! That’s such a big family. I completely understand though. My family consists of three brothers, all of us over 6’3″ tall, with stomachs the size of tanks. We all grew up in Germany so things were different. Our bulk buys still consisted of buying local, just more of or more often. When we were all a lot younger, we did buy easy meals and fast food, as money was low and time was always running out (baseball games, basketball games, soccer games etc.).

Leave a Reply

