Myakka

Gator09Myakka State Park was a great trip and a great change of pace from what we are used to (beaches etc). I really enjoyed the park a lot because it made me think of home. I actually got a little homesick walking under and through the trees of the park. Back home, Germany, I’m used to hills and mountains and valleys and farmland. Even the highways aren’t flat! It was so nice to see a different part of Florida for once and to remind me that home isn’t gone for good.

At the same time, Myakka is huge and I’m sad I didn’t get to see that much wildlife. I don’t know if they live in the park but I was really hoping to see a Tortoise. I own a tortoise myself and have rarely seen one out in the wild (besides on TV). I did see this little guy, he landed on this piece of wood in front of me along with 5 other friends.

Beautiful colors and very tame (in a way).

Beautiful colors!

It was a fairly nice day, pretty hot but at most we saw Alligators and some birds. Like mentioned in another post by a classmate, I believe there to be a lot of potential for photography; especially time-lapse photography (of the night sky or overlooking the trees at the horizon). The canopy was also pretty fun. I didn’t realize how high it was and that it overlooked the tops of the trees. The tower is one giant spiral staircase and looked pretty interesting  when looking from the bottom up.

Stairway to heaven?

Stairway to heaven?

All in all it was a very fun trip, one that I recommend taking a days time worth along with snacks and camping gear. It’s not often that we are able to go out into nature and enjoy it for what it is.

2 thoughts on “Myakka

  1. You got some really cool shots being out there! I’m sad you didn’t get to see any more wildlife, sometimes during dusk the deer like to come out to play and they’re pretty amazing. I love the fact that you mentioned time-lapse photography, I’ve been wanting to get a group of my friends out there to spin fire and do just that and have a great time at the same time!

  2. I was at the canopy walk structure 1-2 years ago for my sophomore cinematography project (symmetry). In fact, the third photo at the bottom you have was my opening shot.

Leave a Reply

