“In the beginning…”- evolutionary opinion

8b76d847c21cf175764e3097f82b334b

http://www.innovationslearning.co.uk/subjects/re/information/creation/christian_creation.htm

http://christianity.about.com/od/biblestorysummaries/p/creationstory.htm

Evolution is one of the most disputed and defended topics that comes to mind when I think of things you normally wouldn’t share with people. When I think back to when I was younger my mom would tell me there were specific topics that you did not discuss with people just out of courtesy. This included: politics, religion, and money. I feel that evolution fits the bill as a topic to not be discussed out of common courtesy as well. This is due to the fact that people become rather, well for a lack of a better word, crazy and obsessed over trying to persuade one person to believe exactly what they believe rather than simply sharing their opinion and respecting the other persons opinion if it may differ from there own. So for that reason I am just merely sharing my opinion on evolution and not in anyway trying to convince people that evolution was this way and that is final.

I have always hated the fact that when this topic is brought to the surface to be given air, there are only two sides that one could seemingly choose: evolutionism or creationism. There are so many blended perspectives that I feel people overlook because it does not seem logical that God would create the world, yet humans as a species evolved from monkeys.

Being a Christian I strongly believe that God created this world and since the Creation organisms have evolved and kept evolving into the creatures that inhabit the world today.

For those who are not familiar with the Creation story the gist of it is this:

Over a span of seven days the world and all living things were created on Earth. “In the beginning, God created the universe. At first the earth was shapeless and covered in darkness, and God’s spirit hovered over the waters. God said, “Let there be light”. And there was light”. On the second day God separated the heavens so there would be water to replenish the Earth and on the third day God rose the dry land up from the waters so there would be vegetation. On the fourth day, God created the Sun and Moon to move the water and grow the vegetation and on the fifth day God filled the sea with creatures and the sky with birds. On the six day God created man from his image and on the seventh day God rested.

Now believing in this, someone might ask “but don’t you see all the facts and proof of dinosaurs and the relative genes to monkeys etc”. Though I strongly believe in the Creation, I am not stubborn. I believe that, yes God created the world, but since then organisms and species have evolved over time. I cannot simply plant my feet and not open my eyes to the proof around me. You may notice in the brief summary of the Creation story it did not mention God creating animals that inhabited the dry land other than humans. So perhaps those creatures we know today such as monkeys, or lizards, or even lions evolved from the creatures God placed in the sea.

When Charles Darwin published his theory in 1859, how did he have any idea how old the world could possibly be? Now I am not only defending my belief but am also asking this as an actual question, if you know the answer I would love to learn and become further educated on that.

See y’all in class!

-Claire Nero

2 thoughts on ““In the beginning…”- evolutionary opinion

  1. This is a very controversial topic indeed. It is difficult to stay politically correct when debating on these idealisms. Yet it is rather interesting and frankly quite refreshing to see that someone is simply stating their beliefs, and not imposing them upon others. It is also rather intriguing that you acknowledge the scientific discoveries that perhaps may cause conflict towards various religious beliefs.

    I personally take the more scientific stance towards where humans come from. There is a Buddhist culture amongst my family particularly amongst my elder relatives, thought most are still open towards conflicting opinions. What really made me interested in science is that one discovery may debunk or expand upon a preexisting belief or fact, the drive to expand our knowledge as a species is what makes it fascinating.

    • Thats really interesting that a Buddhist culture resides within your family I have always been interested in learning more about that religion. With me I am open to everyones perception of religion and accepting of it.

Leave a Reply

