Exploring the Mangrove Tunnels

I’ve never heard of Mangrove tunnels until I moved to Florida. I was researching adventurous things to do in Sarasota, Florida and one of the very first things that popped up on Google was, take a Kayak trip through the Mangrove tunnels. I looked at my screen with confusion and began to type into google images Mangrove tunnels. I for one think nature is beautiful but I also find it sometimes to be a little scary and sometimes it makes me feel itchy. When I was observing these photos of the tunnels online my first thought was, “people actually kayak through there?” My second thought was, “I wonder how many reptiles and amphibians live in these tunnels?” and my last thought was imagining myself on this kayak tour and frantically freaking out because I’ve either fell in the water or some creature is trying to enter my kayak. Regardless of my fearfulness I still find these tunnels uniquely fascinating and surprisingly beautiful.

My Biodiversity class recently had a field trip where we were able to see parts of the Mangrove tunnels. The tunnels are just like the pictures, they almost seem mystical as if they belonged in some sort of fairy tale or Brothers Grimm movie. I knew right away that I wanted to research these tunnels and learn more about them and maybe it might further persuade me to take a tour of them. The everglades contains the largest Mangrove forest in North America. There are various of different species that live in these tunnels. The water is a mix of fresh water and salt water. Surprisingly enough when you research Mangrove tunnels into Google you are left with hardly any information. There is more information regarding the tours through the mangroves rather than actual information of the importance of the mangrove, what species lives in the mangroves, and so on. The lack of research I found was disappointing, but I will continue to search for information or maybe not maybe ill just go on a tour and find out everything I need to know through observing the mangroves in person.

9108-1280x960

4 thoughts on “Exploring the Mangrove Tunnels

  1. I am a huge fan of mangroves and also immensly facinated with mangrove tunnels. I find them an interesting organic structure that looks almost manmade or planned some hope. the Mangroves them selves manage to look at times unreal like some one made some sort of root rosery and manage to conform the trees to grow in a certain manner instead of letting them grow naturally. they just happen to grow in aggressive clusters. growing up in more mountinous areas I’m use to more singular trees rather than a community of them, alot of trees fighting for root space rather than just accomidating each other. the tunnels them selves a look like oragnized chaos. it does sort of bring to mind the way we thing architecture is manufactured but in fact a great deal of modern that we think we’ve created have basic building blocks in nature and life.

  2. The Mangrove tunnels do look really beautiful! The way the branches form arches over the water looks like something out of a fairy tale. I used to go on kayaking trips a lot when I was younger, but never through an environment like the Mangroves and hope I can give it a try someday soon. It’s too bad that there’s not much immediately available information about the wildlife that lives in this area, though.

  3. I was also very fascinated with the mangroves and I too hope someday to take a kayak trip through it. I am still very afraid of potential reptiles (the large kind, such as alligators) lurking about and wanting to feast on me. I am researching on Sand Fiddler Crabs for my project for the class and I have come across some scholarly articles that mangroves can be a potential prevention for tsunamis and there has been a hypothesis going around that they are filters for the pollution coming from inland. Still, I don’t think mangroves should be a filter to pollution but these scholars don’t really know how much of a filter they actually are. Regardless if they help out on the pollution factor, I for once, do not think it is their role to filter something that we ourselves created and I hope that we get our act together and be our own man-groves (see what I did there?) and filter the world from pollution ourselves.

  4. I feel like mangroves truly protect their ecosystem, and are very unique in that way. Creating basically land in water, birds can build their nests in the middle of the water for example, far from land predators.

Leave a Reply

