Sylvia Earle and “Hope Spots”!

Sylvia Earle is an incredible person, and I am so very glad we got to watch her documentary in class. My family and I are Sylvia-Earle_cKipEvans_500 (1)ocean-bound at heart, and couldn’t think of living anywhere without it. I plan on sharing this documentary with them, in the hopes that they feel the same simultaneous motivation and absolute sadness at the current state of the world’s oceans, and hope that they feel the passion that she exuded in her words and actions. I don’t want to sit here and preach about how “every little bit helps” in what we do everyday can help the cause, because who am I to say, and what do I have to show for it? I can only hope to inspire by example, even if by a tiny, tiny fraction like Sylvia Earle.  You can see the absolute heartbreak in her face when she sees the dead and barren Holme’s reef she visited so many years earlier that used to be bustling with life.

I agree that her proposition of “Hope Spots” around the world would be an amazing initiative to helping the ocean rebound in recovery. Eco-tourism is HUGE, even here in Sarasota! Most of what there is to do here (besides restaurants and beaches) are kayak, paddleboard and snorkel tours. Imagine what a huge boosts to local economies that Hope Spot eco-tourism could bolster, and even fund more towards creating further Hope Spots. Sadly, the pessimist side of me thinks that no huge change will happen until a drastic and horrible event occurs (worse than oil spill catastrophes?), but now seeing the effects of people like Sylvia Earle who fight with every fiber of their being to make this not be the case, I feel motivated myself to find a way to not be a passive bystander in our world. Time to back up the talk with action.

If anyone is interested in following Sylvia’s current ventures, she has a facebook page that she keeps current!

https://www.facebook.com/sylvia.a.earle

(source) Dr. Sylvia Earle, “Her Deepness” peering out from a porthole.: Feature Photograph by Kip Evans / Mission Blue

One thought on “Sylvia Earle and “Hope Spots”!

  1. I also tend to have a pessimistic point of view whenever it comes to people’s willingness to save the Earth, but I agree that Sylvia had this way of speaking that gave me a glimmer of hope in all this. I think it has a lot to do with her passion for the ocean and sea life. It’s so apparent that she loves the ocean like it’s her closest friend, and I think her love is pretty infectious! Her passion makes me want to do whatever I can to help, and I think she’s had that effect on a lot of people.

    And thanks for the facebook link!

Leave a Reply

