Understanding Evolution is Important

Creationism-vs-EvolutionAs a young girl I remember my parents and I would attend church every Sunday. My family never stuck to one church, we would always try out new churches and services. When I grew older all of a sudden my family stopped attending church. I’m not sure why that happened but it didn’t bother me. I liked the interaction with the other kids, making arts and crafts, and listening to story time, but I don’t think I truly ever understood the whole concept of religion. I thought of the stories as more of a Syfy movie, I didn’t take what I was being taught seriously. When I was in high school I asked my parents thoughts on religion. My father still believe in the idea of religion and has faith in god my mother on the other hand does not. I grew up acknowledging that I had the freedom to decide whether or not I believe in anything and to be honest the only thing that makes sense to me is the theory of evolution. I do not look down on religion, I actually find some beliefs to be truly interesting, I just don’t consider myself apart of any one religion. I remember in high school my Biology teacher making a speech before her lecture, basically informing students that the discussion today is apart of educational purposes and allowed people who did not feel comfortable to leave class. I must say wether you believe in evolution or not it is scientifically proven to be a natural process.If you break it down maybe people who strongly disagree with the teachings of evolution can come to understand the importance.

I read an article recently by Dr. Connie Bertka and Dr. Jim Miller, that broke down the whole idea of evolution and creationism What is science? The definition of science you will find on Google is exactly this, “the intellectual and practical activity encompassing the systematic study of the structure and behavior of the physical and natural world through observation and experiment.” What is religion? The definition you will find on Google is exactly, “the belief in and worship of a superhuman controlling power, especially a personal God or gods.” Reading both definitions the difference between the two is that science is the way of understanding nature by the development of explanation and religion is based upon a cultural phenomena comprised of literatures, and traditions of practice according to the two doctors. There is a significant difference between the two and I for one am more likely to understand something that can provide an explanation like science rather that religion which can not provide me with an explanation. The only similarity of science and religion is the fact that they both provide historical traditions that have developed over time.

The two doctors went on to break down evolution and creationism. Evolution is the process by which all living organisms have developed and diversified over time through what is known as Darwinism. Creationism is the belief that all living organisms were created by a divine creation, in the biblical sense, so not by a natural process. No matter someone’s beliefs I personally think everyone should be taught the theory of evolution, because it’s a critical understanding of biology.

Leave a Reply

