The Vanishing of the Bees

Actually people don’t really know about bees, and they don’t care about them. The Vanishing of the Bees made me think about how people don’t really care about them.

Depending on New York Times Report in April 2013, bees pollinate a third of our food supply; they don’t just make honey, but colonies have been disappearing at alarming rates in many parts of the world due to the accumulated effects of parasitic mites, viral and bacterial diseases, and exposure to pesticides and herbicides. This can be problem for not only flowers but also human being!

The Vanishing of the Bees video reminded me of my past. When I was little, there was a bee came into my house and honestly I was so scared of it. My parents tried to let the bee out of the room but they ended up killing it. Now that I think of it, the bee was so innocent and I got scared of it because kindergarten teachers and my parents taught me that bees are dangerous. I think people’s awareness of bees are wrong and they keep teaching there children that bees are just dangerous. Actually yes, bees are dangerous but they are so important for our lives. I think people should know it at least.

I found this youtube video and I finished watching it. This is a great documentary about bees.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Vanishing of the Bees

  1. I’ll be honest I am still terrified of bees. I am deathly allegoric to them which could be a major factor, but I respect them. As you said in your article bees pollinate a third of our food supply. When I first heard of the bees disappearing I thought, “well at least I won’t be killed by one of them.” The more I looked into it I was amazed on what is happening and how devastating it is to the world. Not just to humans, but to animals and plant life as well.

    I think that we truly do need to save the bees, and that there needs to be more people talking about it and more publicity on the subject. If i asked thirty people about this subject, I bet a few would know that they were disappearing, and maybe only one would know the cause or why it is bad for our world.

  2. I’ve been hearing about the vanishing bees and was intrigued as to why it was such a big deal. I’ve read about it and I’ve seen a different documentary. It’s troubling to find that they’re disappearing considering that they pollinate such a huge portion of the world’s food supply.

Leave a Reply

