Final Project – Oscar Scherer

For my final project I decided to do something a bit different than what I would normally do.  As an illustrator, my first thought was to do a painting or illustration based on my observations and experiences at Oscar Scherer State Park.  But I decided to take a different route and do a video compilation of the diverse ecosystem that I encountered.  Many people don’t like Oscar Scherer because they feel like it isnt a very diverse or interesting place. They see a lot of sand and scrub and they get board rather quickly (hiking in sand is also a bit of a drag).  But after visiting Oscar Scherer a number of times, I realized that there is a lot more to this place than a lot of people realize. I thought it was a great example of biodiversity in Florida, and I wanted to portray that in the video that I created. I can’t post the video here, but you can watch it on my blog by clicking here.

In addition to the link, here are some stills from the video:

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.48.27 PM

Grass growing in the sand alongside the scrub. Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.48.51 PM

Bumble Bee on a wildflower. Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.49.19 PM

Dead Eastern Mole 
Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.49.28 PM

Florida Harvester Ants 
Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.49.41 PM

Fire Ants feasting on a Wolf Spider.
Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.49.53 PM

Endangered Florida Scrub Jay
Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.50.48 PM

Orb Weaver Spider.
Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 6.51.04 PMSome sort of burrow and wildflowers. 

– Jay

One thought on “Final Project – Oscar Scherer

  1. I really enjoyed that video! And I’m amazed by all the things you noticed. You must be in tune with nature. A great feeling of calmness fell over me while I watched the video. Thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

