Myakka State Park Trip

I know this is a strange first impression to have of Myakka State Park—but honestly what stuck out most to me was the amScreen Shot 2014-12-04 at 2.09.44 AMount that was dead. Don’t get me wrong, this didn’t make the park any less beautiful or my trip less enjoyable, but it got me wondering. I feel like there were as many browning and rotting leaves and branches littered among the ground as there were hanging above us. I know certain plants and trees don’t have a particularly long life, so I thought maybe that’s just naturally how quickly the circle of life takes its toll. But I’ve never seen any other nature preserves or wildlife parks like Myakka was. However, I know Myakka State Park limits the amount of human involvement in their parks, to keep things as natural and preserved as possible. Other parks I have been to might have had a regular clean up crew, hence me never noticing this anywhere else. I’m also aware of some invasive species that may be damaging to the park—particularly wild boars. (At least I think they were boars, my memory is not the best). I learned that the boars (or pigs?) are prone to digging up the dirt, which can disturb what is growing there.Even worse, it’s my understanding that their excrement is somewhat acidic and will essentially act as poison to all life surrounding it. I would imagine these damaging substances are easily spread. I’ve never been to Myakka State Park before this trip and haven’t been since, so I have no idea if this is what it usually looks like or if the recent invasive specie infestation has something to do with it. Like I stated before, it certainly isn’t a negative thing. Just something that made me wonder. I actually kind of liked it. It made everything seem more real, instead of all nice and neatly organized like some parks are. Nature isn’t nice and neatly organized.

One thought on “Myakka State Park Trip

  1. It’s interesting you bring up the dead flora in Myakka. This decay is definitely natural, as well as important to the ecosystem. Back home I would hike along nature trails in the desert mountains and saw the same kind of thing, interestingly enough. There were usually just as many blooming, thriving cacti as there were rotting, dying cacti. I think it’s just part of nature, and the decay cycles back into the system.
    As for the boar, you’re actually right on both guesses- boar and pig. “Domesticated” pigs out in the wild very quickly change into boar. Unfortunately, they are quite good at being boar and are very destructive to Florida wildlife.

Leave a Reply

