Importance of Bees

We owe many thanks to this amazing yet often under appreciated insects.

My aunt is a beekeeper. Every time when my dad wants to visit her with me I get nervous because of the bees. It’s ironic that I’m not scared of bees but I’m scared of being stung by them. I never had any interest in bees until I learned that our world would be a different place if bees never existed. Bees are some of the hardest working creatures and thanks to them they beautify the planet, provide source of food and help the plants to reproduce.

My aunt not only takes care of the bees or sell the honey, she also collects propolis. Propolis is a resinous mixture that honey bees collect from tree buds, sap flows, or other botanical sources. It is used as a sealant for unwanted open spaces in the hive. These propolis are actually used for medicines to cure cancer also and many other uses. My aunt sells Propolis to the hospital every year. She also gave me a sample of a soap and toothpaste made with propolis. It’s actually quite effective. My acnes started to disappear when I used the soap for couple days and the toothpaste made my teeth whiter. Who knew propolis was this useful? Now think about it, without those bees we will be losing this valuable natural resources.

20141120_101806

One thought on “Importance of Bees

  1. I always knew about bee’s obvious uses like honey and pollenating, but I never thought about other uses like this! Bees really do contribute so much to us and we really depend on them for our way of life. It makes me sad that there is such a stigma against them.

Leave a Reply

