Our Dying Oceans.

@Mission Blue

After hearing a lecture in class regarding fisheries, I remembered seeing a documentary that could be interesting on Netflix. It seems that Netflix is full of great documentaries those days. Anyways, I decided to watch this documentary called Mission Blue. It was a documentary following Dr. Sylvia Alice Earle who is the world’s foremost oceanographer as she is today. She has aged but she is still going strong in her mission to save the ocean from diminishing due to overfishing, pollution, and other threats. In her own words, Dr. Earle said that “if we fail to take care of the ocean, nothing else matters.”

This was a moving documentary and visually beautiful. It discusses some of her past as she grew up in the oceans off the coasts of Florida. She has seen the destruction all over the ocean especially Gulf of Mexico in all of its stages due to humans taking over the land and modernizing it. For example, all the chemicals farmers use seeps into the Mississippi River which spills out into the ocean causing dead zones. Dr. Earle has seen the ocean in all its thriving and abundance days. As the oceans are dying, so is she.

She approaches all of the issues destroying our oceans and the life beneath the surface. The fact that she was there for most of the advancements in marine biology history including being the first person to reach one thousand feet in a manmade submerging suit. I have learned a few interesting facts that I never knew since I am not exposed to oceanic issues that are plaguing our oceans. I learned that sharks are harvested just for their fins and  then thrown back into the ocean. Just the fins and imagine what that shark is experiencing during this then thrown back into the ocean to drown since they can not swim. Imagine a human thought process through all this if a human actually suffered this fate. I also leaned that corals in the world are down fifty percent compared to roughly fifty years ago. Fish oils actually comes from the plants that fish eat, not the fish themselves.

I enjoyed this documentary very much because it took me back to my youth where I had an interest in marine biology and its oceans. I can not imagine how Sylvia felt seeing those corals die first hand. She has seen corals and the ocean in its majestic days and to go back there to swim amongst what is now dead must be depressing. Dr. Earle has started a project called Hope Spots which aims to make sections of oceans protected just like our National Parks. It has been a great success so far. I would like to thank her for everything she has done. I can only hope to help the ocean in some way one day.

8 thoughts on “Our Dying Oceans.

  1. Such a great post !
    She is absolutely right about our waters. Earth is some crazy high percentage of water than it is land. We really take water for granted because its just a turn of a nozzle away from us, but we waste it and we would be nothing without it. Literally. I will definitely take a look at this documentary. I’m an ocean freak.

  2. I still find it crazy that the majority of our planet is covered in water, and yet the majority of it is unexplored. Who knows what lies in the ocean that we haven’t seen – we’re constantly finding new species there every year. With oceans taking up such a huge expanse of our planet, and also contributing a large portion of the food we consume, it seems only suitable that we should take good care of it. I definitely feel that the oceans needs stricter protection as well – it’s much easier to prevent a mess than to find a way to clean it up after the damage is already done.

  3. I tried watching this documentary when I saw it come out on Netflix because it sounded really interesting. I gave up about 10 minutes in because I was bored, though. I wish I hadn’t, it sounds like it was really informative and nice to watch. I’ll definitely have to give it another go once finals are over!

  4. It is very sad to know that humans are so dismissive of the consequences their actions have. I hope that in the future people will definitely start to be mindful of what they do to their environment, even the fishermen and the companies. If only there were a way to make those who control the operations know the vast consequences of the things they are doing.

  5. Very interesting. I hope that information like this can become more commonly known; we as a species should recognize that an unhealthy world will not be a nice place to live in.

  6. I think you sold the documentary, at the very least, nice post. I too have this sorta underlying interest in the ocean and marine life, it really is like an entirely different world from anything we’re used to.

  7. love the post! The ocean is a very, very interesting thing and there is still so much we do not even know about it. As far as the people on this earth go, I really agree with the fact that we as a group need to make some serious changes in order to better the environment around us.

  8. I enjoyed the video you posted! I’m interested in nature too, so I really want to support her mission. I like how she works for ocean like approaching all of the issues destroying our oceans and the life beneath the surface. I hope this documentary makes people think about it more. Actually I recommended this video to my roommate just now.

Leave a Reply

