A Bee, See?

After watching “Vanishing of the Bees” last class, I payed a visit to a friend who I knew does some beekeeping himself on the side.

 Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 11.37.13 AM

He told me about the process of splitting hives and about how queen bees come about.  He said that in early stages of development bee larvae are normally fed royal jelly for only three days to make normal bees.  If there is no queen around, the bees might continue to feed the larvae royal jelly which will result in hopefully some bees to develop into a queen.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 11.36.49 AM

The issue is getting frames with eggs, especially during cold seasons where drones can be scarce.  As seen in the “Vanishing of the Bees” some beekeepers attempt to force the process of creating queens and new hives far beyond what could be  considered natural.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 11.37.37 AM

I’m happy to see people like my friend who gives up some of his his extra time to raise and care for bees.  The honey’s great too.

4 thoughts on “A Bee, See?

  1. I’m not scared of bees but I’m just scared that they will sting me one day. My aunt is a beekeeper. It’s interesting to see their beehive up closely and watching their behavior. My aunt mentioned that these Queen bees are actually quite expensive!

  2. It’s really interesting to see that a close friend of your also does beekeeping as well! It must be very worrysome for him to know that CCD can affect him as well, but I do wish him the best of luck.

  3. I wonder what happens if more than one queen develops in such a case. Would they just keep one and chuck the others? In the video, the bees would attack an enemy queen, but what would they with two queens of their own at the same time. I should go look this up.

Leave a Reply

