Things I Didn’t Know

photo 2 photo 3 photo 1

 

There are a lot of things that I didn’t know about South Lido Beach. I didn’t know that there were so many birds that fly there to breed. I didn’t know that there are teams of people who constantly monitor growing sea turtle nests, and help them find their way home. I didn’t know that there could be so many jellyfish lined along the shores of the beach. I didn’t know that such a place could house some of the most intriguing trees i’ve ever seen(Mangroves). I truly didn’t know that such a small area of beach could be so mysteriously beautiful.

I have been to this beach many times, but I have never really explored the different sections of it. I learned so many new things about this beach that I never knew before. I was so surprised that this beach actually had Mangrove trees! I have never really been able to see them so close and to see how they grow. Those trees are so beautiful and they are so important to the ecosystem of the beach. Apparently they serve as a great nursery to all different types of fish! That is just so cool! They also have visitors such as paddle boarders, kayakers, and manatees! I really hoped to see a manatee while I was visiting this time, but sadly it wasn’t my day.

However, I saw many different animals instead. I saw dolphins swimming of the coast, all different types of birds such as seagulls, pelicans, herons, and sand pipers. There were also jumping mullet as well as jelly fish! Im not gonna lie, those jellyfish are just so strange looking to me. When I saw the first one I was pretty excited because it had been a long time since I’ve seen a jelly that big. When I got closer I started to become disheartened. This was because the jellyfish was dying or already dead. Its just so sad to see such a strangely beautiful creature die.

All in all taking this trip to south lido was definitely worth it. I was able to see things that I never even looked twice at. I also learned how there are so many things that help the ecosystem of the beach thrive. I always enjoy learning something new and this trip surely didn’t disappoint  me! Every time I go back to this beach I’m going to explore and see how many new things that I can find or see. To me I think its worth it to be able to have one of those “special nature moments”. To see natures little secrets is truly an experience that can last a life time.

Sources:

Photos:Muriel Holloway

Leave a Reply

