Indian beach

I had never really liked Indian Beach. In my eyes it was just a mass of muck and rocks. But on this class trip, my eyes were opened. There were sea urchins and horseshoe crabs and all sorts of fish and birds. But what got me most of all was extremely tiny.

Once I was brave enough to get close to the green algae muck, I discovered something rather interesting. These little black slug-like things the size of the head of a pin. They were feeding and thriving of the algae and were absolutely EVERYWHERE. These little things that people would just walk all over and barely even notice were creating what almost seemed like society with the algae.

As we get older, we always forget about the little things. Life starts moving so fast that we barely see what is around us and instead just speed right past something so incredible. This trip really has taught me to appreciate the little things more and to stop and smell the roses every once in a while… or at least stop and inspect the algae.

 

5 thoughts on “Indian beach

  1. I agree with you. As we get older things start to look different. For example I always imagine my childhood home as being really huge, when it’s just normal size.
    I didn’t really like Indian Beach myself until that trip. I think the whole concept of trying to look at it through a child’s eyes was really intriguing.

    • I don’t know about you, but it had been forever since I looked at things like a child. Have you ever gone back to some place you went to as a child and thought it was massive only to find out it was really quite small?

  2. I made repeated visits to Indian Beach over the last few weeks to gather reference of Horseshoe crabs so that I may model and 3D print some as toys. I actually had a harder time than ever trying to find them which is odd because they’re usually so hard to miss. There were definitely plenty of those tiny black slug-like creatures though

  3. I agree with your statement about overlooking the small things around us. Every day I have to remind myself that I’m one of those small creatures that is just a speck compared to the rest of the universe. The idea that there are creatures and even worlds that we have never seen is simply mind blowing! Ants are already small, but there is a possibility that there are creatures even smaller than ant!! Thats insane!! I definitely agree with appreciating all the smaller things that I have overlooked before. It changes the way you look at your surroundings for sure.

  4. I have started going down to indian beach a lot lately, completely agree with what you are saying. At first it doesn’t seem like much, but after a few visits you start to notice how amazing such a small, simple place can be.

Leave a Reply

