Indian Beach Trip

It wasn’t my first treasure hunt on Indian beach. Years ago when I was still a freshmen, I was taking a walk by myself at a summer afternoon, hot and humid, I was excited to find such a location with cozy sea breeze, but instead of stopping my pace, I put my eyes on the shore. I still keep the rocks I gather from Indian beach 4 years ago; that was my first treasure hunt on the Indian beach. I didn’t came from a place near the sea, going to the beach was clearly a luxury, and never have I ever imagine I would be in a college where the ocean is only 5 minutes away.  For the pass 2 years, it has become my way to school everyday. For a while I’ll away just pass it by, I’ve been there so many times, as if I have seen it all. I was sure that I’ve forgotten how it felt like seeing it for the first time, but this class trip took me back to the day I found it. I had a lot of fun flipping rocks in shallow water, by observing the micro-ecosystem underneath it, I was able to detect some small fishes and sand crabs; there were vegetation and tiny little mussels growing along the surface of rocks. It’s not hard to tell that some of the mussels are simply just shells; when some of the organism died off, new organisms gather the nutrition from the old. There were also a few horseshoe crab laying on the sides, but if we could came by after a summer storm, we might be surprise to see just how many horseshoe crab remnants could this little place gather, I would say no less than 300 with all sizes on the shore. However, today we were still lucky enough to see some sea urchins at the near water.

ImageImageImageImage

About the same time last year, this beach area was closed for renovation, I wasn’t sure what had happened, but I vaguely remember just before they cleaned it up, there were time when the beach was full of garbage and dead marine animals, flies and mosquitos plied up along the shore. Whenever I ride by Indian beach I could even smell feces and urine. I was really glad someone had made a change, After all, we are but part of this ecosystem.

Leave a Reply

