About Fish

     After last week’s discussion on the pros and cons of different fish and fisheries, I turned to the internet and found an interesting article about the “five favorite types of seafood” in America today (shrimp, tuna, salmon, pollock, and tilapia, according to the article.)  It outlines questions one should ask when buying these foods, concerns we should consider, and the best types of each not only for ourselves, but for the environment.  The article can be found here:  http://www.nrdc.org/oceans/seafoodguide/page2.asp 

     What surprised me about what I read was the fact that some of America’s most popular choices, especially tuna, are endangered and should not be eaten.  I didn’t expect a fish so abundant on the shelves of grocery stores to be so much less prevalent in the wild. 

     From what I’ve read, it seems like the best thing we can do for the moment (aside from not eating any fish at all) is to buy American farmed or environmentally friendly wild-caught seafood,  and to stick to smaller varieties of fish whenever possible since these tend to be lower on the food chain and less endangered.  

 Image

One thought on “About Fish

  1. Hey Danielle! Interesting post about seafood in America. I know most people would not agree with me, but I love seafood and would hate for it to become nonexistent. Salmon is one of my favorites, but after you mentioned that it’s the most endangered I might think next time before I think about ordering it.

    Also thanks for including the link to that article you mentioned!

Leave a Reply

