No Impact Man

This was a very interesting an inspiring film. There are things that I will do now but most likely when I graduate and leave Ringling dorm life. I love the farmer’s market but I am not the best at planning meals in advance because of college’s crazy scheduling or lack of one. I will definitely use the farmer’s market more when I have a job with a standard-ish schedule. Also, growing my own garden and having a compost pile. I have always wanted to do this since I was little but my parents said no. They don’t have green thumbs and thought the compost pile would smell and attract rats and other unwanted critters. Yet, the whole no electricity and no toilet paper thing are not going to happen.  I will turn off the lights and fans when they are not needed. I will try to remember to unplug things that don’t need to be plugged in all the time except for items that need to be reprogramed if unplugged like, TV, cable, and alarm clock. I have been programmed as a westerner and toilet paper is the norm and I am okay with this being normal. Michelle was the realist in this whole project. She is the average city American so her thoughts and feelings were more relatable. She hated the project at first and did crack at some points but came through in the end. She kept some of the changes but definitely got rid of some. There is a lot that we can do to help the planet. It doesn’t have to be huge and extreme it can be as simple and easy as unplugging things and eating locally. It’s the little things that can lead to a big impact.

 Image

Leave a Reply

