The Cove

Watching The Cove for the first time has really opened my eyes about the reality it exploited about dolphins and the slaughter they are forced to endure. It was painful watching the team go through so much emotional agony trying to save the dolphins from their watery graves and not being able to do a thing about it during the first portion of the documentary. I had no idea this was all going on, and I am glad that I was able to see and get more perspective on this terrible issue. It was like something out of a horror movie seeing the Japanese city so decked out in dolphin attractions and decorations, statues, murals, and being the location of so much violence and ignored slaughtering happening right under everyone’s noses. I never would have expected that, when the team went into the city and asked locals, none of them knew anything about the dolphin slaughtering or even knew people ate dolphin at all. Along with that, and the information about mercury made me sick. The idea that so much is going on and so little is being done about it is a huge issue. While I did not see the conclusion of The Cove documentary, it made me only wish that it was a documentary that was seen by millions and that it would be something that was made and successfully distributed to exploit and help bring an end to this problem.
Hearing everything they talked about involving the TV series Flipper really made my heart sink. I could only imagine what he went through when Flipper swam up and died in his arms. I didn’t even know that dolphins could go that far to express their sadness, if that was even what happened exactly. Obviously Flipper is much more complex than I could describe. But really, The Cove gave me much more empathy for the dolphins than I ever had before.
If anything at all, I just hope that this issue becomes something of common knowledge among people. I don’t think it can be an issue that’s fixed overnight, but something can definitely be done to help these conditions. I understand, of course, dolphins as attractions in parks and shows, aquariums, etc. will always exist. Or.. maybe they wont. But the treatment of these animals can certainly be improved.. and I only hope it will be.

Deep_Sea_3D_-_Dolphin_Discovery

Photo Source: http://wallpapers.free-review.net/wallpapers/15/Deep_Sea_3D_-_Dolphin_Discovery.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Cove

  1. I never knew that dolphins could submit themselves to suicide whenever they feel need to. It was so moving and sad to see Flipper give up her/his life because of the amount of pain and unhappiness it was going through. We don’t realize how much animals are exactly like us. They can feel, have emotions and think like we do, yet we treat them as though they are beneath us. It’s quite sad.

  2. It’s terrible to think that these things happened to some of the creatures that we grew up watching. I know that a lot of people including me watched shows and movies like Flipper and Free Willy when we were growing up. We were so enamored by their beauty but we were too young to understand what was really going on behind the scenes. Hopefully in the future dolphins will be treated better and they wont feel so unhappy that they have to result to drastic measures.

Leave a Reply

