Domestication

cute-siberian-husky-wallpapers

 

Something I found extremely interesting was the fact that tameness was passed down and not something the domesticated animals developed. This sort of gives me new insight on domestication of animals. All along I’ve been thinking that if you get an animal from the wild and take care of it at home, it’ll change its ways even if by a little, but apparently not. I know there are some animals that do, but not in most cases.

Also, I’m really surprised about the way genes work. Genes sort of adapt. In the case of the fox, for example, the foxes started becoming physically cuter with each generation. That’s really impressive. It also sort of answers a question I’ve had all along. I’ve been wondering why dogs look so different if they are all just a variation of a wolf. How can a wolf become a chihuahua? Genes!

Being a dog person, I’m really glad to have watched this documentary. I know sometimes my husky ignores me on propose, but knowing that at least she does understand what’s I’m trying to convey cheers me up. One thing that might relate to this documentary is this personal experience I had, where my Husky was about to run out of the house like she usually does, but my sister pretended to cry, and she actually came back to cheer her up. She just lay sort of looked at her and came back.

Domestication not only led to so many different races of dogs, but it also led to dogs developing social skills. I wonder if this applies to other animals, too, like cats.

One thought on “Domestication

  1. I find this concept intriguing, myself; that social behavior is brought about genetically rather than as through learning or conditioning. It would make sense that wolves would easily adapt to be socially compatible with humans or a similar kind of authoritative social species. In nature they live in packs with complicated social structure not unlike human social hierarchy regarding levels of dominance and submission. This preexisting social behavior gave both us and evolution something usable to work with.
    Cats, on the other hand, do not have any such complicated social structure. Their close natural relatives do not live in packs or submit to any form of social hierarchy and are primarily independent creatures. No, lions aren’t close enough to count. I don’t think cats are a plausible candidate to adapt dog-like social abilities, largely due to their difference in brain size. This is partially why I believe the larger predatory cats have such a social structure but smaller cats do not.

Leave a Reply

