Decoding Dogs

Image

 

I really loved this documentary. My boyfriend, a guy obsessed to an almost unhealthy level with dogs, told me about this program so I’m really glad we got to watch it in class. There were a lot of topics brought up throughout the program that amazed me. Like the fact that dogs can recognize our emotions through our facial expressions. I mean, as a dog owner, I thought my terrier always seemed to know how I was feeling that day so its really awesome to know that that isn’t just me being crazy. I also found it fascinating that they proved that humans can understand the emotions of dogs through their barks. Its amazing how dogs and humans can communicate with one another.

One of the topics from the documentary that my boyfriend had told me about that I couldn’t quite believe was how dogs, through the process of domestication,  have developed traits similar to human babies. It now makes perfect sense after having watched the program myself. Through breeding, we have selected traits that are found in juvenile animals but are present in the adults and thus have frozen these animals in their juvenile state. This is why we as humans feel the need to take care of them. Another point that the documentary brought up was how the same chemical released in new mothers and their newborns can be found in dogs and dog owners. The chemical is what creates the loving bound between animal and human. 

I really loved looking at this relationship through the eyes of science and learning how it developed over time. 

Leave a Reply

