Re: The Vanishing of the Bees

Although I knew the importance of the bee as a pollinator, I couldn’t help initially watching the film with disdain in class (having never been stung by a bee or wasp and still getting slightly panicked any time one comes near, I am not to afraid I am a little biased when it comes to bees or insects in general); however, after viewing the film, I’m worried.  As silly as it sounds, I’m genuinely concerned about the plight of the honey bee.

I wasn’t made aware of the fact that we actually have to ship bees around the U.S. to keep crops pollinated until this semester, and the fact that this is something we have to do worries me on several levels.  The fact that our agriculture has de-evolved so much to this point – to freaking move/import bees around to ensure everything will pollinate properly – has crossed the borders of lunacy; while I didn’t have a problem with mono cropping before (didn’t even give it a second thought, despite spending half my life growing up in the rural-suburbs of Indiana), I certainly do now.  People might dislike having to choose an Ugly tomato over the typical Red Round tomato, but meanwhile if having greater crop diversity means our food being a little less pretty, so be it.

I'm sorry.  The following GIFs showed up on my Tumblr dashboard about the same time we watched the documentary, and I couldn't stop thinking about this during the film.

I’m sorry. The following GIFs showed up on my Tumblr dashboard about the same time we watched the documentary, and I couldn’t stop thinking about this during the film.

Bee2 Bee3 Bee4 Bee5 Bee6

4 thoughts on “Re: The Vanishing of the Bees

  1. It really is a terrifying thought that something much smaller than us, the HUMANS the clear superior species who think we have farming and pollination down, could destroy and end all of the development and progress we’ve made. If we don’t stop doing whatever it is we are doing we may have to start living in bio-domes and be Pauly Shores neighbor ;___;

  2. I think when this first became an issue, a lot of people thought nothing of it; I’m sure the consensus was “They’re just Bees!” but now we’re learning just how much of an impact they have on the environment. I hope that this is not the precursor to something even worse, but knowing how bad it is should draw more attention to how badly the problem needs to be solved before it gets any worse.

Leave a Reply

