Food Diversity

If you ever plan on taking a road trip through Illinois, expect to see nothing but this. Bring a video game or something.

I’m just a big ol’ contradiction when it comes to food diversity.

On one hand, I do enjoy and eat a lot of processed or just not “organic” foods. I love pizza, pasta, beef stew and fried chicken, and even some of my healthier favorite foods (Cheerios, for example), probably aren’t that “organic” or Earth-friendly. I’ve also sworn up and down that, while there are plenty of decent-tasting vegetarian and vegan options out there, I could never give up meat. I was born a meat-and-potatoes girl, and I will die a meat-and-potatoes girl, and nothing you can say will convince me to ignore a perfectly good hamburger or hot dog.

On the other hand, I do love me some fresh, farm-grown vegetables. I’m from Illinois, where the main exports are corn, soybeans, and political corruption (hey-o!). As such, there are a LOT of farms outside of the suburban area I live in. Because of this, when the corn’s been freshly picked in the summertime, it’s not hard to find a farm stand selling the sweetest, freshest corn you ever tasted. I can safely say that this has absolutely spoiled me, as corn-on-the-cob from other sources (school lunches, chain restaurants, frozen dinners etc.) always leaves me disappointed, to say the least. I also love some of the other vegetables my family’s gotten from various farmers’ stands. Let me tell you, zucchini tastes best when the vegetable hasn’t been transported over a hundred miles.

Furthermore, in order to save money and give us a summertime hobby, my mom decided to use some of the extra garden space in my uncle’s backyard to grow a family vegetable garden last year. The results varied, with the most successful experiment being the tomatoes (not so lucky for me, since I don’t like non-pureed tomatoes). This isn’t the first time we’ve grown fresh fruit or vegetables, though; Mom seems to get the urge now and then to grow food in the backyard, usually with pretty good results.

So, yeah, what I’m trying to say is that I guess my food choices are more diverse than I thought…in both good and bad ways.

One thought on “Food Diversity

Leave a Reply

