Response to No Impact Man

no-impact-man

I enjoyed watching No Impact Man for the most part, however there were some things about it that were just ridiculous. For one, i’m skipping ahead a little, the part where his wife is talking about having another child just didn’t seem like something they should even consider. They never showed us the entire apartment but it looked extremely tiny from what I could see. We saw their little girl sometimes, but never saw where she slept or if there was even any room for another child. I know they ended up having trouble in the end with the pregnancy, but the way they were living just didn’t seem welcoming to a baby.

Not only that, but I found myself becoming confused as to why they didn’t try better methods. The cooling pot method looked impossible from the beginning. It was obvious it would fail. I feel like the project made people think about what impact they were making on the environment but its not something they would want to practice for the rest of their life. It seemed like a temporary new environmentally aware thing to do and then faded away like a fad.

I did learn some interesting things about saving money, but most of it I knew already, it just isn’t convenient. Such as going to the Farmer’s market to buy groceries. They could walk everywhere they needed to go. It might work depending on where you live, but the methods arent easy to convert to.

I appreciate the effort but for me, it wouldn’t work.

5 thoughts on “Response to No Impact Man

  1. I noticed a lot of people brought up the pregnancy thing in class. I honestly don’t think it’s right to pass the judgment that they shouldn’t have another. It’s a very personal decision for them, and I think it was only included to make the documentary feel more human and add drama, I guess.
    (It did bother me that he equated a possible pregnancy to Russian roulette, however. But that’s a different issue! )

    I do agree that a lot of the things they did were unfeasible. Like the pot in the pot… And like even Colin said… “Why would anyone go without electricity? That’s stupid.” But they did have good points, too I think. Like telling kids to volunteer (though it doesn’t show him doing that very much). Hopefully that kind of thing could become less of a fad.

  2. I agree with both of you! The film did bring up certain topics and issues that could easily be put to place in my own life now, but I highly doubt that an average American could really commit to most of what they were doing.

    I think that “No Impact Man” could be used as a stepping stone to where we should all strive to be as global citizens but I can not realistically put into practice what the movie is asking of me. This documentary I feel would be much more impact full as a launching point for similar, but better, ideas for the world’s future. “No Impact Man” should be considered with a grain of salt; if I am not being to harsh.

  3. I felt like the entire film was kind of amateur. I totally understand the mindset though, take a simple guy that has no clue what he’s doing and thrust him into a new lifestyle. I get that they wanted the viewer to relate to “No Impact Man” and get an idea of how they could do it but I feel like he himself did no research prior to delving into this lifestyle. There are thousands and thousands of people that live without modern luxuries their entire life. I felt like if an amish watched “No Impact Man” that they would be dumbstruck at how difficult they made it out to be. The film lacked what I am really interested in when it comes to documentaries.

  4. I definitely agree with asking why they didn’t try better methods. Some of their solutions seemed a little shaky and delayed. I think it may be similar to how he didn’t research some of the environmental concerns in the area before actually starting his project. He seemed very surprised when he realized the amount of damage that was occurring due to the local landfills. It probably would have been better if he research and tried several different solutions to his cooling system, the compost bin, and laundry ideas. I agree that this was more about making people think than actual solutions. It appears that it certainly left an impact on most of the students though!

  5. I definitely agree that their model for “no impact living” couldn’t stand up for more than a year (if even.) But there are definitely bits and pieces of the lifestyle they experimented with that could be easily incorporated into our lives. (Consuming less, diligent recycling, his awesome worm bin, giving up your car for walking/cycling/public transit.)

    Also his face when she brought up that baby stuff was priceless. You could just see him thinking “jesus christ how do I get her to change her mind.”

Leave a Reply

