Sustainable diet?

fruit

Since we already know quite a lot about global warming (that is at least the impression from last class) I had a hard time choosing anything to write about for this post . Then I thought about the movie we watched and how mildly absurd and entertaining it was – aswell as important in it’s own way. It at least made me question my life and how “green” I really live. For example, I am from Norway and I go home about twice a year – something that takes up to one or two days of travelling – in addition to that I travel to other places on the side. I just love travelling – but it’s really unhealthy for the environment. Even analog photography that I love so much involves a lot of toxic chemicals in the develop and printing process, which is kind of something to be aware of – though I can never give up traveling or photography. Still I have tried to do something to be sustainable – like, I have been flexiterian (vegetarian most of the time) since I was 13; stopped eating processed and added sugars; too processed food and now I only eat the occasional seafood/fish; I try to always buy local and organic; I never had a car, and I love my bike; I recycle and buy as much second hand as I can; and I always turn off the lights and machines.  But this thing with food is important to me especially because my body are not used to the additives in American food. In context with this I thought I would name and sum up the different “sustainable” diets:

Pescatarian – eats seafood and fish, but no red or white meat. Can eat egg and animal products. My main diet the past 6 years.

Vegetarian – eats only vegetables and animal products, but no meat of any kind.

Flexitarian – flexible about their vegetarian diet; not a strictly meatless.

Lacto-vegetarian – eats only vegetables and milk, but no eggs or meat.

Ovo-vegetarian – eats only vegetables and eggs, but no milk or meat.

Vegan – eats no animal product or meat; strictly vegetarian diet.

Raw Vegan – eats only unprocessed, uncooked, food – normally dried with “heat” under 115 F.

Fruitarians – eats only food like seeds, fruit, berries, etc. that falls of the plant – so the consumer does not harm the plant. Strictly vegetarian.

What do you guys think about these diets? Too fanatic? Some definitely are, but it is possible to eat good and healthy for both you and the environment with just a little coordination and care.

What do you guys do when it comes to eating? Or just in general to save the environment?

4 thoughts on “Sustainable diet?

  1. Lately I’ve been trying to reform my diet in order to stay away from processed foods, packaged meals that are packed with sodium and sugars, and buy only organic. So far, its been kind of expensive but I recently discovered the Trader Joe’s on Tamiami and they have fruit and veggies cheaper than the ones sold at Whole Foods or Publix. I’m curious though, what kind of American foods have you been surprised at?

  2. Adopting a plant based (vegan) diet is one of the best things an individual can do for the planet—-but it can be hard to adopt to it at first…I like the idea of leaning into it…doing as much as you can but not beating yourself up if you are not perfect all of the time. -Karla

  3. I believe that a lot of diet issues for americans comes from portion control. Most american families train their children to finish everything on their plate and if you add in all of the artificial enhancers used in american foods you literally have a recipe for disaster. Its comforting that healthy diet plans are being enforced in elementary schools where they may be lacking at home.

  4. To be frank, I don’t moderate my diet in any way. I’ve always had a healthy weight, body fat percentage, and an athletic lifestyle that have afforded me to be careless in what I eat. When it comes down to it, its just drops in a bucket. I love all kinds of animal meat, and my life is too short to make a change in my daily life that would cut out things that I enjoy. Maybe that’s selfish, but it’s simply not feasible for me at this point in my life. And in the grand scheme of things, I don’t know that whatever positive change one person changing their eating habits will bring to the environment would be worth the lifestyle change to something I don’t enjoy.

Leave a Reply

