The Cove

The Cove… Doubles?

 

Watching the Cove was horribly disturbing and very difficult through (and I didn’t even see the whole thing). But moving to before I saw the film, I automatically thought about our beloved Cove much closer to home here at Ringling.

Whenever I go to the Cove, I see the bayou and I can’t help but remember the many remarks made about it. “Ew, that water is so gross!” “If you fall in, you’ll fall into toxic waste!” And let’s not forget those dead fish we see floating around every now and then. GUH! But then I also remember hearing old stories about the place such as “Manatees used to swim through here all the time.” And hearing things like this make me sad beyond belief, because think about it.. Because of human activity the bayou probably became the toxic dump we see it as today which means, no more manatees, no more boat building. This is lame.

What if, instead of complaining about the problems with how unclean it looks and how unsafe it is, why don’t we do something about it. There are plenty of people in the area that are knowledgable in cleaning up an area so that maybe one day the manatees will come back. Then again maybe I’m too idealistic. Also, it makes me think about the fact that the idea of one person, their passions, their driving force, could possibly bring about a change if they’re headstrong enough to do it.

I don’t know.. I’m not much of a blogger and sometimes I have a difficult time communicating my ideas so other, but I feel that, no matter what, we can’t bring about any kind of change unless we do something about it, which has been a constant theme in Biodiversity.. Right?

3 thoughts on “The Cove

  1. I lived in the Cove when I was a sophomore. Definitely a hellish experience. But anyways, I agree that something should be done about the sorry state its in. The amount of garbage floating around it is appalling.

  2. Never lived in the Cove, but I can definitely see your point (If I remember correctly, I senior I knew during my freshman year got bit on the toe by an insect or something – and then temporarily wound up in a wheelchair when the bite became infected by mold in his room. Not healthy at all.), and would love to see the bayou cleaned up.

    I am a little concerned about human safety, though, because I heard that they used to dump waste directly into the bayou for several decades before they stopped in the 80s (realizing it was reaching the Bay). Whether this is true or not, I have no idea, but it’s definitely something to consider when considering clean-up crews.

Leave a Reply

